What Is ISO?

ISO Standards are created by an independent, non-governmental, international organisation. They are utilised by companies globally to ensure high-quality products/services, good health and safety procedures, eco-friendly practices and much much more. Many businesses opt to go for ISO Certification because they offer so many benefits to both them and their customers. 

ISO certifications exist in many industries, The ISO standards are in place to ensure consistency and are independently audited via Certification bodies. Each certification has separate standards and criteria and is classified numerically. For instance, Candy MC can help with ISO 9001, Quality Management, ISO 14001 Environmental Management, ISO 45001 Occupational Health and safety, ISO 27001 Information Security and more.

Benefits of Implementation

Boosted Profits
Simplified Risk Management
Improved Employee Engagement
Reliable Practices
Improved Relationships With Stakeholders
Happier Clients

How Does It Work?

Put simply, ISO Standards are management systems that you can implement to control and monitor the processes within your company about a certain element e.g. quality or environment. Once you have decided you want an ISO standard for your business, you can hire a consultant to help you to implement the system and ensure you achieve certification.

What Is Certification?

Once you have implemented your standard, you can then achieve a certificate to demonstrate to potential clients that you have good environmental practices for example (ISO 14001). An auditor will visit your business to review the practices you have implemented and reward you with a certificate. With certification, you can choose to go accredited or unaccredited.

Certification Bodies offer their Management System Certification, which is in most cases if accredited, covered by Accreditation to the International Standard ISO/IEC 17021:2015, and they are frequently assessed against the requirements of this standard by UKAS.

According to the definition, certification is the assessment of conformity. In most cases, requirements have been stated in specific standards, which include International ISO, European EN and various National standards either the Management System, the Product or Process, or Personnel can be certified.

Certification is valid for a fixed period (normally 3 years) after which a recertification audit can be performed. Certification surveillance assessments must be performed annually while the certification is valid.


This means that your certificate has been awarded by a UKAS accredited certification body.

The auditor will check your management system against the UKAS requirements and ensure that you are compliant with the internationally recognised standards before awarding you with your certificate. Many governmental tenders will require your certificate to be UKAS accredited to consider you for contracts.


If a certification body isn’t accredited, there’s no way of knowing whether it’s applying the relevant standard appropriately as per ISO17021. No one is checking that its assessments are done correctly, so it could theoretically be giving certifications to anyone who applies. As a result, certifications awarded by non-accredited bodies hold little weight in most cases.

In some cases, unaccredited can cost you more money in the long run as you may have to implement an accredited system eventually anyway to meet your clients’ needs.

We recommend choosing accredited ISO certification first time. 

Our team of consultants help you to implement your ISO Standard to the UKAS compliant grade no matter what. We want to ensure you get the most from your management system each time.

Our Standards